Williamson County Archives & Museum

Archives and Museum.png The Williamson County Archives was created in 1993 by the Williamson County Commission to serve as a repository for all official records of Williamson County, though its treasures extend well beyond that.

The Archives are located in the Old Library building at Five Points in Downtown Franklin where Highway 431 and Highway 31 meet. 



    American settlers filtered into the Tennessee area throughout the 1700s, pushing the Indian boundaries further south and west. Williamson County became a well-known crossroads on the great Western Movement of the American people.

    Many researchers can trace their ancestry here for a generation or more before continuing on to the western country.


    The Williamson Archives is a treasure-trove for genealogists and historians alike. Its current holdings include:
    • County, Circuit, and Chancery Court minutes and processing records
    • Deed and deed indexes
    • Depositions
    • Emancipation records
    • Inquests
    • Marriage licenses and bonds
    • Naturalization papers
    • Road records
    • Tax records
    • Wills and probates
    The Archives also house:
    • Books documenting Williamson and Tennessee Counties
    • County law suits
    • Obituaries
    • "Owen's Who's Who in Williamson County"
    • Vertical file collection
    • Veterans files from Williamson County